Welcome to my blog!

I am a sixth grade language arts and religion teacher at Christ the King School in Lexington, KY. I am a proud alumni of the school where I teach! This is my third year teaching, but my first year teaching Language Arts. The past two years I have taught 6-8th grade Social Studies. I have a WONDERFUL class who works very hard and treats each other with respect. On this blog I hope to share with you the awesome things we are learning together in class!

Recently, we worked together in small groups based on students’ MAP score RIT ranges, on noun skills. I put each student in their RIT range group and looked at what skills they needed to work on in nouns and pronouns. Students worked on laptops with an interactive powerpoint mini- grammar lesson. This enabled me to float through the room and help students independently.

In Literature, we started our first round of book clubs. We will be reading: Where the Red Fern Grows, The Giver,  The Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Number the Stars, The Watson’s Go to Birmingham,  and Holes. Today was just the first reading day, but I can’t wait to listen in to what the kids have to talk about tomorrow!

One response to “Welcome to my blog!

Leave a Reply

